Posted 11 July, 2013 by Stuart Torres in Heritage

Nomination Process

Only countries that have signed the World Heritage Convention, pledging to protect their natural and cultural heritage, may submit nominations for properties within its territory to be considered for inclusion in the World Heritage List.

1 – Lista provisional

The first step of a country should have is to make a “inventory” its important cultural and natural heritage situated within its borders. East “inventory” is known as the indicative list, and provides a forecast of the properties that a State Party may decide to file for entry in the next five to ten years and may be updated at any time. Is an important step since the World Heritage Committee can not consider a nomination for inscription on the World Heritage List, unless the property has already been included in the State party of the indicative list.

2 – The Nomination Dossier

By preparing a Tentative List and selecting sites from it, a State Party can plan when to present a proposal file. The World Heritage Centre offers advice and assistance to States Parties in the preparation of the dossier, to be as comprehensive as possible, ensuring that the necessary documentation and maps are included. The nomination is submitted to the World Heritage Centre for review and to check that it is complete. Once the file is complete nomination to the World Heritage Centre sends the Advisory Bodies for evaluation.

3 – Advisory bodies

Properties proposed were evaluated independently by two advisory bodies established by the World Heritage Convention: International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) and the World Conservation Union (IUCN), which provide the World Heritage Committee with evaluations of cultural and natural sites designated. The third consultative body is the International Center for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property (ICCROM), an intergovernmental organization that provides the Committee with expert advice on conservation of cultural sites, well as training activities.

4 – The World Heritage Committee

Once a site has been proposed and evaluated, corresponds to the intergovernmental World Heritage Committee to make the final decision on registration. Once a year, the Committee meets to decide which sites will be inscribed on the World Heritage List. You can also defer its decision and request additional information on sites of States Parties.

5 – The criteria for selection

To be included on the World Heritage List, sites must be of outstanding universal value and meet at least one of ten selection criteria. These criteria are explained in the Operational Guidelines for the Implementation of the World Heritage Convention, addition to the text of the Convention, is the main working tool on World Heritage. The criteria are regularly revised by the Committee to reflect the evolution of the concept of World Heritage.
Until the end of 2004, World Heritage sites were selected on the basis of six cultural and four natural criteria. With the approval of the revised Guidelines, only one set of ten criteria exists.

14,087 total views, 3 views today

Stuart Torres